top of page

COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE

AHHHH coffee day! A day to celebrate that warm sensational smell when you wake up, that jolt at 2 a.m. to push you through that all-nighter studying for a final, that sweet, sweet taste of day off when you indulge at a coffee shop rather than your breakfast table. Needless to say, yesterday was a glorious day. And for me, (like all important holidays a.k.a. my birthday) it is going to continue through the weekend (at least).

I like to believe I know good coffee. For only being 20 years old I think I’ve had my fair share of drip, pour over, lattes, cappuccinos, etc. I also like to think I’m pretty well-traveled for my age. And I’m not talking about family vacation destinations.

So assuming those 2 ideas about myself are true, I’ve compiled a list of my ALL TIME FAVORITE coffee shops I have had the extraordinary honor of sippin’ at!

1. Let’s start close to home, Stauf’s Coffee Roasters is what I would say to be the most popular roasters and coffee shops in Columbus. I mean, there’s 4 locations and I’ve never seen one even half empty. They make some mean specialty drinks but I always go for flavored drip coffee of the day (and usually a biscotti)! My favorites are Bourbon Pecan and

Snickerdoodle… wiiiiith the exception of their winter flavors. I have no idea what they are but they’re SO GOOD!!!!! Stauf’s also has plenty of vegan bakery options. YUM! My family started going here forever ago so whenever my coffee-loving grandparents come to visit this is de a no brainer.

2. Also in Columbus, Mission Coffee is a definite favorite. I actually dubbed them with the crown of BEST VANILLA LATTE I HAVE EVER HAD! Super cool vibe, super comfy couch and super friendly baristas. What more can you ask for!

3. Let’s finish up the Columbus scene in these next 2. The Roosevelt Coffeehouse is unique in that (according to it’s mission statement) is “a coffeehouse built to fight the injustices of hunger, unclean water and human trafficking.” So you can feel good about splurging on that specialty drink knowing some of that money is going to a good cause! And I ENCOURAGE you to splurge on the specialty drinks here! During the fall, they make my all-time favorite sweet drink, the Smortado. Trust me, just do it. However, if drip is more your style, they serve Stumptown Coffee Roasters beans so you will not be disappointed.

4. Last but for sure not least, Fox in the Snow. This stand-alone building is covered in moss and features a large back porch, perfect for enjoying sunny days in the heat and brisk days in the fall. It is known for its cinnamon rolls (which I have yet to try). But I absolutely love the New Orleans with almond milk. The coffee has such an amazing flavor with a bit of natural sweetness. It’s just a picture perfect scene with a perfect cup o’ joe!

5. Another hot spot for (and where I had my first) for New Orleans coffee is Blue Bottle Coffee Co. They’re located all over the Bay Area and New York and even have 1 location in D.C. Get the New Orleans! That’s what they’re famous for ;)

6. Taking it down the coast to SoCal in Irvine, California is this little shop, Neat Coffee. It’s so small it’s barely even a shop but just a coffee bar! Their turmeric latte is hands down THE BEST! My sis takes me here every time I visit. She even took my grandparents, the King and Queen of drip coffee for turmeric lattes and they loved them! Now that is saying something.

7. Now to inland LA, not technically a coffee shop but they make a mean horchoffee. Yes, horchoffee, a mix of horchata and coffee and perhaps one of the best coffee drinks I have EVER had. Don’t skip out on the food though! You will not be disappointed with either!

8. Coming back toward the Midwest in Denver, Colorado is a super hip place called the Bellwether. When I say super hip I mean they have signs saying “find us on yelp? GTFO.” I suppose their version of “locals only.” Well if this blog post encourages you to try it out on your next trip to Denver, be cautious what you say. I’m not sure if blogs would fall in the same category…yikes. ANYWAY… I did in fact find them on yelp but I spoke of that in hushed tones. Yelpers advised to get the nitro cold brew. Now as a blogger, not yelper, I am seriously advising the same. It was bold, smooth and flavorful basically everything you hope for in a coffee, and man.

9. Now how is it possible for me to end a list of favorites without including something Disney. ANSWER: IT’S NOT. Territory Lounge located inside Wilderness Lodge at Walt Disney World is the (shhh) secret home to the most extravagant coffee drinks! Seriously, it is not on any online menus, only at the bar and only in the morning (I believe). I got the s’mores latte and drank it out on the back porch in a rocking chair overlooking the scenic resort. My morning could not have started any better.

10. Just outside of Disney property is a cute, historic town called Winter Garden. Winter Garden has one of the largest farmer’s markets in America and it did not surprise me why. Locals, tourists, CPs, etc. This was the hot spot! Another hot spot just outside the market is Axum Coffee. With a line out the door at all times, I think its safe to assume the have the good stuff. And they do. Their baristas were super kind and helpful and the coffee was good…really good.

Writing this made me incredibly sad that so many of these places are so far from me right now. But I am so grateful that I have had the opportunity to go to so many places and drink some amazing coffee. Like one of my most famous Instagram captions reads, “don’t cry that it’s gone, smile that you ate [drank] it.”

Let me know if you travel to any of these places and try out some gooood coffee! Also, comment below some of your “must-try” coffee shops! I hope everyone had a very bold, caffeinated coffee day!

xoxo AO

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE

on the go

bottom of page