top of page

First impression... New York City

Let me begin by saying this... I loved New York. Don't get me wrong.

Now here we go.

I have imagined living in New York and being a HBIC my whole life. That's been on the radar from the get go. Now granted, I had never been before. When I imagine New York, I imagine it in the spring. Not in the dead of winter when I went for the first time. (Literally the coldest week). So I kept that thought in mind. Another thing to note: I'm used to traveling alone and I was with a group. I'm used to doing what I want, not on the schedule of others like I was.

So with all that in mind, bear with me when I give my honest review of my first trip to NYC.

Like I said, I loved the city. As a total "city gal"(thanks for the term, Emily) stuck in a place surrounded by suburbs, it was a breath of fresh air (despite the yummy smell of anything BUT fresh air)... kidding kidding. Don't attack me yet.

Let's start with the things I absolutely loved. The food... AMAZING. Everything I ate was just so dang delicious. The workout class options were endless. I couldn't get myself to walk any extra miles outside because it was painfully cold, but I liked knowing I had plenty of options if I wanted to. The shopping because DUH. And lastly, the people. I don't believe any of the stereotypes I loved the people. They were fantastic.

I loved the energy, the vibrance and the bustle more than I thought I would. It was invigorating and inspiring to look around and just see so many people trying to "make it" - whatever that means to them. I loved walking everywhere and taking the subway. I really did love it. But living it is another story.

It was touristy, very touristy. I know what you're thinking, Orlando is the mecca of touristy but this was more than expected. It could be the location of our hotel, I don't know for sure, but I do know I wasn't completely sold.

Speaking of selling points, let's talk rent. Okay, I understand cities are expensive. You get what you pay for. A prime location? Worth the extra bucks, in my opinion. BUT sharing a place or even worse, dare I say, SHARING A BEDROOM? Just to maintain enough money to go out on the weekends, eat out or workout at the amazing places that make me want to live in the city in the first place. Wow. I don't know about that one.

Last point for this post, the transportation situation. As I mentioned, the subway didn't bother me one bit. It was Uber that killed me. Uber Pool was next to the worst thing I've ever experienced. I was stuck in a car with a smelly, drunk dude who was breathing so loud and deep to keep himself from puking that I had to choke back my own. No, thank you. Let's also talk about how long it would take to Uber Pool somewhere just a few blocks away. I swear at one point we picked up two people, dropped them both off at separate locations while picking up one more along the way, picked up another another block down, dropped them off, dropped off the other and finally after about a 45 minute ride, I had arrived at my destination. I wasted so much money on Uber that week.

Now that's a quick fix, just visit in the warmer months and walk more so you Uber less. I get that. And that will solve the frigid temperature problems. Now for the tourists... yeah, can't do too much about them but I'm used to it in the form of Mickey ears.

I could see myself there for sure, but maybe only when I'm rich, living the highlife and can afford plenty of vacations to warmer destinations. Perhaps I just have champagne taste on a PBR budget. Wannabe city gal who can't afford rent in a city. Who knows.

Basically, long story short, I already have a love/hate relationship with NYC after just five days. If anyone wants to help change that opinion please hit me up for a trip. LOL.

UPDATE: I'm still dreaming of living there someday so obviously I my ambitions weren't too shaken. Thanks for the read. Good thoughts, prayers (and venmo payments) are appreciated :)

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE

on the go

bottom of page