top of page

I hate the suburbs, so why do I live in a suburb?

Why is that that we always feel we owe someone something?

You know what your dream job is, so why are you wasting your time in positions that aren't exactly that? Why do we feel we need to pay our dues to get to where we want to be?

I guess to some extent it's true. Dues must be paid and they must be paid upfront, in this case, entry-level. But the day has come when I wake up and realize there's not a coffee shop within walking distance and think, "I hate the suburbs, so why do I live in a suburb?"

My current job is an absolutely amazing experience. It was my dream and I worked so hard to get here. But now that I'm in this position I see all the red flags that don't align with where I want to go. Everyone tells me "just stay a little bit longer and the opportunity will come" but when does "a little bit longer" become your life and when do you realize you're wasting your time in a life you don't love?

You hear it, you see it, you read it, you write it. If you don't love what you do, who you're doing it with, where you're doing it, then you need to make a change. Change awaits on all corners and while it's easier said than done, it's still pretty easy, if you ask me. Pack up and move, quit your job, make new friends, do what you need to do! I'm all for creating your own happiness but when do you draw the line between soul-searching and a three-page resume filled with flitting experiences?

Being a recent grad this is a troubling thought. How long will I be paying my dues? When will I get to where I want to be? How many suburbs do I have to live in before I make it to the city?

I know timing is everything, having people on your side is very helpful and sometimes, staying exactly where you're at, doing exactly what you're doing is the best way to pass the time.

To all people in the same boat ... there's hope for you. There comes a time when you must weigh your options. For me, I'm jumping into the unknown: the scary world of not having a job lined up, an apartment lease quickly coming to an end, plenty of student loan debt creeping up and no idea where I'll be in just two short months. As frankly terrifying as it sounds, I feel comfortable with my decision.

I know that my heart is aching for something more. I know that this experience has taught me what it was meant to but now it's more important than ever to follow my passion. And now more than ever, I know that I hate the suburbs.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE

on the go

bottom of page