top of page

First impression... Brooklyn, NY

I made my first ever trip to NYC last month. I was so excited to come! I anticipated immediately falling in love with the energy of the city.

First stop, Brooklyn to visit my old roomie and forever bestie, Julia. Julia moved to Brooklyn about 7 months ago. Wow, time flies. It seems like just last week she was planning her first trip for spring break. Besides the point, though.

I remember sitting in a coffee shop and watching the blizzard commence outside and was immediately reminded that I don’t actually hate winter. Being from Ohio and dealing with the cold, gray and snow my whole life I was fresh into my move to Florida. All I could think was “yayyyyyy no more snow no more cold,” but it was pretty there. It was different.

There’s a sense of hope in the air and a calming acceptance that lingers. Everyone is themselves there. No one is hiding, no one is pretending. It’s honestly refreshing.

Brooklyn had a charming sense of home. It was new, but oh so familiar. I can't put my finger on it.

Maybe it's the coffee shop I was sitting in when this post popped into my head. Columbus is home to plenty of coffee shops and those coffee shops become where I spent plenty of my hours over the past four years.

I don't know what it is, but I like it there.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE

on the go

bottom of page